Vote For The 2011 GIBBY Awards

Vote for the 2011 GIBBYs and watch on December 16, on MLBNetwork &

Do you want your favorite New York Yankee to win a Greatest In Baseball Yearld (GIBBY) award? Then it is very simple. All you have to do is vote! Fans have until 11:59pm on December 4 (today) to vote for their favorite players and the awards will be announced on December 16 at 9pm on MLBNetwork & Fans may vote up to 25 teams in each category with 1 email address (you can change email addresses and vote another 25 times). Here are the categories where your 2011 New York Yankees were nominated:

Player Of The Year:

Jose Bautista (Toronto Blue Jays)
Ryan Braun (Milwaukee Brewers)
Miguel Cabrera (Detroit Tigers)
Jacoby Ellsbury (Boston Red Sox)
Prince Fielder (Milwaukee Brewers)
Adrian Gonzalez (Boston Red Sox)
Curtis Granderson (New York Yankees)
Matt Kemp (Los Angeles Dodgers)
Albert Pujols (St. Louis Cardinals)
Justin Upton (Arizona Diamondbacks)

Starting Pitcher:

Roy Halladay (Philadelphia Phillies)
Felix Hernandez (Seattle Mariners)
Ian Kennedy (Arizona Diamondbacks)
Clayton Kershaw (Los Angeles Dodgers)
Cliff Lee (Philadelphia Phillies)
CC Sabathia (New York Yankees)
James Shields (Tampa Bay Rays)
Jered Weaver (LA Angels)
C.J Wilson (Texas Rangers)
Justin Verlander (Detroit Tigers)


Dustin Ackley (Seattle Mariners)
Danny Espinosa (Washington Nationals)
Freddie Freeman (Atlanta Braves)
Jeremy Hellickson (Tampa Bay Rays)
Eric Hosmer (Kansas City Royals)
Craig Kimbrel (Atlanta Braves)
Ivan Nova (New York Yankees)
Michael Pineda (Seattle Mariners)
Mark Trumbo (LA Angels)
Jordan Walden (LA Angels)
Jemile Weeks (Oakland Athletics)
Vance Worley (Philadelphia Phillies)


John Axford (Milwaukee Brewers)
Joel Hanrahan (Pittsburgh Pirates)
Craig Kimbrel (Atlanta Braves)
J.J Putz (Arizona Diamondbacks)
Mariano Rivera (New York Yankees)
Drew Storen (Washington Nationals)
Jose Valverde (Detroit Tigers)

Setup Man:

Mike Adams (Texas Rangers)
Joaquin Benoit (Detroit Tigers)
Tyler Clippard (Washington Nationals)
Eric O’Flaherty (Atlanta Braves)
David Robertson (New York Yankees)
Jonny Venters (Atlanta Braves)

Defensive Man:

Asdrubal Cabrera (Cleveland Indians)
Jacoby Ellsbury (Boston Red Sox)
Jeff Francoeur (Kansas City Royals)
Brett Gardner (New York Yankees)
Adam Jones (Baltimore Orioles)
Cameron Maybin (San Diego Padres)
Andrew McCutchen (Pittsburgh Pirates)
Brandon Phillips (Cincinnati Reds)
Mark Teixeira (New York Yankees)
B.J Upton (Tampa Bay Rays)

Comeback Player:

Lance Berkman (St. Louis Cardinals)
Jacoby Ellsbury (Boston Red Sox)
J.J Hardy (Baltimore Orioles)
Russell Martin (New York Yankees)
James Shields (Tampa Bay Rays)

WOW Factor:

Asdrubal Cabrera (Cleveland Indians)
Robinson Cano (New York Yankees)
Starlin Castro (Chicago Cubs)
Jose Reyes (New York Mets)
Mike Stanton (Miami Marlins)
Shane Victorino (Philadelphia Phillies)


Kirk Gibson (Arizona Diamondbacks)
Joe Girardi (New York Yankees)
Jim Leyland (Detroit Tigers)
Tony LaRussa (St. Louis Cardinals)
Joe Maddon (Tampa Bay Rays)
Charlie Manuel (Philadelphia Phillies)
Ron Roenicke (Milwaukee Brewers)
Ron Washington (Texas Rangers)


Ruben Armaro Jr. (Philadelphia Phillies)
Brian Cashman (New York Yankees)
Jon Daniels (Texas Rangers)
Dave Dombrowski (Detroit Tigers)
Andrew Friedman (Tampa Bay Rays)
Doug Melvin (Milwaukee Brewers)
John Mozeliak (St. Louis Cardinals)
Kevin Towers (Arizona Diamondbacks)

Moment Of The Year:

Braun blast clinches division (Milwaukee Brewers)
Dad helps Cano win Derby (New York Yankees)
Gurerro sets Dominican hits mark (Baltimore Orioles)
Jeter goes deep for 3,000th hit (New York Yankees)
Johnson homer caps 7-run rally (Tampa Bay Rays)
Rivera’s record-breaking save (New York Yankees)
Thome’s 600th HR (Minnesota Twins)
Yanks smack 3 grand slams (New York Yankees)

 Performance Of The Year:

Giambi’s 3-HR, 7 RBI game (Colorado Rockies)
Hart’s 3-HR, 7 RBI game (Milwaukee Brewers)
Jeter goes 5 for 5 with No. 3,000 (New York Yankees)
Liriano’s no-hitter (Minnesota Twins)
Longoria blasts Rays into October (Tampa Bay Rays)
Santana’s no-hitter (LA Angels)
Verlander’s no-hitter (Detroit Tigers)
Zobrist’s 10-RBI doubleheader (Tampa Bay Rays)

Click here to start voting for your 2011 GIBBY award nominee! Remember, they can’t win if you don’t vote!

About these ads

About Delia E.

Delia Enriquez is the managing editor of Yankees Fans Unite. She enjoys analyzing the New York Yankees whether it be their pitching, roster or their manager. You can follow her on twitter @dfiregirl4 for more tweets, analysis and opinion on the Yankees.

Posted on December 4, 2011, in Misc. News and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 16,319 other followers

%d bloggers like this: